twin to king bed converter kit download

Guest bedroom - converting 2 twins to a king bed?

I'm setting up a guest room and I have 2 twin beds. Has anyone used one of the straps that they sell to put 2 twins together to make a king? I like the flexibility of having either twins or a king in my guest room depending upon who is visiting. But I'm concerned that the fitted king sheets will be too long for the combined twins. Has anyone done this?

My DH's grandparents have been sleeping on 2 twin mattresses in a king bed frame for at least the last 20 years. They actually recommended it to us when we bought a king bed last year, but we found a mattress that we both loved so we went with a single king-sized mattress. The sheets are not a problem, as long as you are not buying extra-long or California king sheets.

You're going to have a very luxurious (and practical) guest room!

Glad to hear that it could work. I was picturing buying king-size sheets and having to tuck under 5 inches of extra sheet. I like the flexibility because my brother and sister-in-law visit sometimes, but it's just as common for me to have 2 of my nieces come stay for a night or two.

Since most newer sheets are too short and narrow (in my opinion -- it seems you have a choice of tucking in the top sheet or turning it over the top of the blanket, but not both at the same time), it would be an advantage for the sheets to be longer and wider.

I have an adjustable king bed, which is two extra long twin mattresses next to each other. I've done a couple of different things. I've bought twin xtra long sheets and sewn the flat sheet to make one, but the fitted sheets kept coming off. Now I'm doing two queen sized fitted sheets, and I sewed and adjusted the flat sheet to fit.I don't have any problem with there being too much fabric with the fitted sheets. I just tuck them in when I make the bed.

Or maybe you can try somethin else - use bed throws not only to cover this 'king bed' but also to use it as a sheet. Their sizes might be good enough. Too unusual idea?

Here is a link that might be useful: lambswool throws

mdoats, I have 2 twin beds that we pushed together. I purchased normal king size sheets and comforters and you can't tell that the bed is not a real king.

I also have an adjustable king - (love it! wonderful for FMS all those aches & pains that move around) anyway, I use regular king sheet sets, There is enough stretch for one or both sides to adjust. My only complaint is I wish the top flat sheets were wider. At first, I was concerned about the split in the middle - it is a non issue. I wish I had gone to a split king years ago!

Thanks for all the feedback. I think it makes for a very versatile guest room, so I'm pleased to hear that it works so well.

I had posted this same question just a short time ago; in fact, at first I thought it was my post popping up again!

I have two twin beds. I purchased the lambswool connector that goes between the two beds; it comes with a strap that surrounds and buckles around the beds.

I placed a mattress cover over each bed first. Then placed the lambswool piece in the center and buckled it together. I then placed a king sized mattress cover over that. It works great and makes a wonderful king sized bed. Twin beds are actually five inches shorter than kings, but I didn't have any difficulty placing king sized sheets on the bed.

I bought my "connector" on line at Comfort House.

That's exactly what I'm thinking of buying. But the one I saw said that you combine two extra-long twins to make a king, so I wanted to know how it would work with regular twins since that's what I already have. I'm glad to hear that king sheets work for you.

Where can I find the lambswool connector? I tried Googling it and found nothing? Any ideas on price range as well??

I know of quite a lot of people who does this with the strap so I would say - go for it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Twin beds for kids

Houzz® The new way to design your home™