Download free why i converted to christianity from atheism

OrthodoxChristianity

92 пользователя находятся здесь

МОДЕРАТОРЫ

  • outsider Eastern Orthodox (OCA)
  • aletheia Eastern Orthodox
  • candlesandfish Orthodox
  • AutoModerator
  • superherowithnopower Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite)
  • 10101010101111
  • о команде модераторов »

Welcome to Reddit,

the front page of the internet.

and subscribe to one of thousands of communities.

отправлено 3 месяца назад , изменено * автор [deleted]

Want to add to the discussion?

[–]StavrosMcGee Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite) 1 очко 2 очка 3 очка 3 месяца назад * (0 дочерних комментарев)

[–]poorjohn Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite) 4 очка 5 очков 6 очков 3 месяца назад (0 дочерних комментарев)

[–]poorjohn Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite) 1 очко 2 очка 3 очка 3 месяца назад (7 дочерних комментарев)

[–]poorjohn Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite) 3 очка 4 очка 5 очков 3 месяца назад (5 дочерних комментарев)

[–]poorjohn Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite) 0 очков 1 очко 2 очка 3 месяца назад (3 дочерних комментария)

[–]poorjohn Eastern Orthodox (Byzantine Rite) 0 очков 1 очко 2 очка 3 месяца назад (1 дочерний комментарий)

  • помощь
  • правила сайта
  • центр поддержки
  • вики
  • реддикет
  • mod guidelines
  • связаться с нами
  • приложенияи инструменты
  • Reddit for iPhone
  • Reddit for Android
  • mobile website
  • кнопки

Использование данного сайта означает, что вы принимаете пользовательского соглашения и Политика конфиденциальности. © 2017 reddit инкорпорейтед. Все права защищены.

REDDIT and the ALIEN Logo are registered trademarks of reddit inc.

π Rendered by PID 81807 on app-149 at 2017-12-26 21:13:41.736524+00:00 running a84abeb country code: FR.

Why i converted to christianity from atheism

I had no untapped, unanswered yearnings. All was well in the state of Denmark. And then it wasn’t.

Nicole Cliffe | May 20, 2016

Nicole Cliffe: How God Messed Up My Happy Atheist Life

I became a Christian on July 7, 2015, after a very pleasant adult life of firm atheism. I’ve found myself telling “the story” when people ask me about it—slightly tweaked for my audience, of course. When talking to non-theists, I do a lot of shrugging and “Crazy, right? Nothing has changed, though!” When talking to other Christians, it’s more, “Obviously it’s been very beautiful, and I am utterly changed by it.” But the story has gotten a little away from me in the telling.

I know that sounds depressing, but I found the idea of life ending after death mildly reassuring in its finality. I had started to meet more people of faith, having moved to Utah from Manhattan, and thought them frequently charming in their sweet delusion. I did not wish to believe. I had no untapped, unanswered yearnings. All was well in the state of Denmark. And then it wasn’t.

What I Already Knew

The second starting point is usually what I lead with. I was surfing the Internet and came across John Ortberg’s CT obituary for philosopher Dallas Willard. John’s daughters are dear friends, and I have always had a wonderful relationship with their parents, who struck me as sweetly deluded in their evangelical faith, so I clicked on the article.

Somebody once asked Dallas if he believed in total depravity.

“I believe in sufficient depravity,” he responded immediately.

“I believe that every human being is sufficiently depraved that when we get to heaven, no one will be able to say, ‘I merited this.’ ”

A few minutes into reading the piece, I burst into tears. Later that day, I burst into tears again. And the next day. While brushing my teeth, while falling asleep, while in the shower, while feeding my kids, I would burst into tears.

I should say here I am a happy, even-keeled soul. If this were the Middle Ages, I would be in a book under the heading “The Four Humors: Sanguine/Phlegmatic.”

Therefore, it was very unsettling to suddenly feel like a boat being tossed on the waves. I wasn’t sad, I wasn’t frightened—I just had too many feelings. I decided to buy a Dallas Willard book to read anthropologically, of course. I read his Hearing God . I cried. I bought Lewis Smedes’s My God and I . I cried. I bought Sara Miles’s Take This Bread . I cried. It was getting out of hand. You just can’t go around crying all the time.

At this point, I reached a crossroads. I sat myself down and said: Okay, Nicole, you have two choices. Option One: you can stop reading books about Jesus. Option Two: you could think with greater intention about why you are overwhelmed by your emotions. It occurred to me that if Option Two proved fruitless, I could always return to Option One. So I emailed a friend who is a Christian, and I asked if we could talk about Jesus.

I instantly regretted sending that email and if humanly possible would have clawed it back through the Internet. Technology having failed me, my message reached its recipient. She said she would be very happy to talk to me about Jesus. You probably already know this, but Christians love talking about Jesus.

I spent the few days before our call feeling like an idiot, wondering what on earth I planned to ask her. Do you … like Jesus? What was Jesus’ deal? Why did he ice that fig tree?

And now we reach the part of the story that gets a bit hand-wavy. About an hour before our call, I knew: I believed in God. Worse, I was a Christian. It was the opposite of being punk rock.

Now, if you’ve been following along, you know already. I was crying constantly while thinking about Jesus because I had begun to believe that Jesus really was who he said he was, but for some reason, that idea had honestly not occurred to me. But then it did, as though it always had been true. So when my friend called, I told her, awkwardly, that I wanted to have a relationship with God, and we prayed, and giggled a bit, and cried a bit, and then she sent me a stack of Henri Nouwen books, and here we are today.

Since then, I have been dunked by a pastor in the Pacific Ocean while shivering in a too-small wetsuit. I have sung “Be Thou My Vision” and celebrated Communion on a beach, while weirded-out Californians tiptoed around me. I go to church. I pray. My politics have not changed; the fervency with which I try to live them out has. My husband is bemused by me, but supportive and loving.

No More Chill

This is why apologetics, in my opinion, are hugely unconvincing. (Dallas Willard, for the record, never debated unbelievers.) No one could have in a billion years of their gripping testimony or by showing me a radiant life of good deeds or through song or even the most beautiful of books brought me to Christ. I had to be tapped on the shoulder. I had to be taken to a place where books about God were something I could experience without distance. It was alchemical.

There are times I feel a bit like a medieval peasant, in that I believe wholly in God now, but don’t always do what he wants, or, like Scarlett O’Hara, put hard conversations with him off until I’ve done the thing I wanted to do. It’s a thrumming backdrop to the rest of my life. My Christian conversion has granted me no simplicity. It has complicated all of my relationships, changed how I feel about money, messed up my public persona, and made me wonder if I should be on Twitter at all.

Obviously, it’s been very beautiful.

Nicole Cliffe is cofounder and coeditor of the website The Toast and lives in Utah.

Support our work

Share This Article:

More from this issue

Faith and the Arts: A Fragile Friendship

Before You Help Someone, Show Some Respect!

Read These Next

Daily Devotion: How Christians Rank 16 Mundane Essentials of Faith

A graphical look at Pew's research on the lives of highly religious Americans.

Gleanings: June 2016

Important developments in the church and the world (as they appeared in our June issue).

Christianity Today’s 2018 Book Awards

Our picks for the books most likely to shape evangelical life, thought, and culture.

The Real 12 Days of Christmas

Celebrating Christ's birth with saints of the faith during the actual Christmas season.

Edwin and Jennifer Woodruff Tait

The Holy Ghost of Christmas Past, Present, and Future

Our Christmas stories may be missing their most important character.

Why i converted to christianity from atheism

I tried to face down an overwhelming body of evidence, as well as the living God.

Jordan Monge | April 4, 2013

The Atheist's Dilemma

The Atheist's Dilemma

I don't know when I first became a skeptic. It must have been around age 4, when my mother found me arguing with another child at a birthday party: "But how do you know what the Bible says is true?" By age 11, my atheism was so widely known in my middle school that a Christian boy threatened to come to my house and "shoot all the atheists." My Christian friends in high school avoided talking to me about religion because they anticipated that I would tear down their poorly constructed arguments. And I did.

As I set off in 2008 to begin my freshman year studying government at Harvard (whose motto is Veritas, "Truth"), I could never have expected the change that awaited me.

And he did something else: He prodded me on how inconsistent I was as an atheist who nonetheless believed in right and wrong as objective, universal categories. Defenseless, I decided to take a seminar on meta-ethics. After all, atheists had been developing ethical systems for 200-some years. In what I now see as providential, my atheist professor assigned a paper by C. S. Lewis that resolved the Euthyphro dilemma, declaring, "God is not merely good, but goodness; goodness is not merely divine, but God."

Joseph also pushed me on the origins of the universe. I had always believed in the Big Bang. But I was blissfully unaware that the man who first proposed it, Georges Lemaître, was a Catholic priest. And I'd happily ignored the rabbit trail of a problem of what caused the Big Bang, and what caused that cause, and so on.

By Valentine's Day, I began to believe in God. There was no intellectual shame in being a deist, after all, as I joined the respectable ranks of Thomas Jefferson and other Founding Fathers.

I wouldn't stay a deist for long. A Catholic friend gave me J. Budziszewski's book Ask Me Anything , which included the Christian teaching that "love is a commitment of the will to the true good of the other person." This theme—of love as sacrifice for true good—struck me. The Cross no longer seemed a grotesque symbol of divine sadism, but a remarkable act of love. And Christianity began to look less strangely mythical and more cosmically beautiful.

No Walk in the Park

But beauty and need do not make something true. I longed for the Bible to be true, but the intellectual evidence was still insufficient.

But my head and my heart suddenly switched places. Though I began to know the evidence for the Scriptures, my head full of answers, I began to feel distant from the story that had brought me to tears a month prior. When reading through the Passion narrative on retreat on Cape Cod in the spring, I remained utterly unmoved. I went out to pray.

I walked to a pond surrounded by trees and began praying by the water's edge. I felt disconnected from God, from the friends I'd begun to hold dear, from my body itself. I begged God to make it all click, as a test for me to know that he was there. After an hour with no progress, I started to walk.

Following the pond to a stream, I began climbing through the surrounding thicket to see if I could reach the ocean a little ways down. I kept pausing, thinking, Do I want to go back? I left all my stuff behind. But each time, I renewed my steps, believing that I couldn't quit until I'd made it to the end. I wouldn't forgive myself if I just gave up and went back to where I'd started. I had some sense of direction of where I needed to go, but I didn't know how to get there.

I climbed over branches and under bushes, sometimes going in the opposite direction for a while when the bramble grew too thick. I treaded lightly through marshes only to have the mud swallow my leg up to the knee. After pulling myself out, I started walking through the stream, since I figured I couldn't get any dirtier, and the ground seemed to be most trustworthy along the middle of the river where the water had worn the path. So I followed it until the last light of day was waning.

If I wanted to continue forward in this investigation, I couldn't let it be just an intellectual journey. Jesus said, "If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free" (John 8:31-32). I could know the truth only if I pursued obedience first.

I'd been waiting for my head and my heart to be in agreement. By the end of the church retreat, they weren't completely in sync. Many days they still aren't. But I realized that the unity could come later. If my heart had agreed at one point, and my head agreed now, then my heart would follow. I couldn't let a malfunctioning heart delay the logical course of action, the obedience required by true faith.

I committed my life to Christ by being baptized on Easter Sunday, 2009.

I came to Harvard seeking Veritas. Instead, he found me.

Jordan Monge is the northeast regional director of the Veritas Forum and a regular contributor to Fare Forward .

Support our work

Share This Article:

More from this issue

Who Defines Doctrine?

The Love Shack

Read These Next

I Love You—I Just Don't Trust You

A new study finds a connection between trust and theology. An infographic.

How a Catholic-Pentecostal Split Could Help Nigeria's Militant Islamists

United body divides for the first time in 40 years over politics and Islam.

Sunday Oguntola in Lagos, Nigeria

Benny Hinn Is My Uncle, but Prosperity Preaching Isn’t for Me

As part of the family empire, I lived a life of luxury. Then doubts began to surface.

The Real 12 Days of Christmas

Celebrating Christ's birth with saints of the faith during the actual Christmas season.

Edwin and Jennifer Woodruff Tait

The Holy Ghost of Christmas Past, Present, and Future

Our Christmas stories may be missing their most important character.